Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare

Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?

Based on my experiences alone, I can honestly say that it is indeed possible to be too honest. In fact, too much honesty is bad, just like too much of anything else is bad. I mean, you can’t always speak the truth, and I’m not just saying this because I’m a competent liar, but because that has just become the natural order of things.

Yes, it is true that the truth does set us free, but there are just certain truths in this world that are too destructive to be told, be it to ourselves or to other people. Everyone has that certain truth that they can’t express because they know that other people are better off not knowing. The same goes with opinions. Sometimes, no matter how strongly you feel, you are forced to keep your opinions to yourself for the sake of peace, in order to avoid unnecessary conflict.

I know because I have my own share of truths that I want to say aloud but I just can’t because I want to ruin anything. As painful and mentally stressful as it is, it’s just another one of those things that we want in life that we will probably never get. But hey, sometimes you learn to live with something after some time no matter how much you hate it.

Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare

Leave a Reply

